top of page
Welcome to 
Tebah of Grace
Words of Grace Through 
Another Vessel
By Jenny Stade
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Subscribe to

Tebah of Grace Blog

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Renamed: From Simon to Peter

"The following day, John was again standing with two of his disciples. As Jesus walked by, John looked at him and then declared, "Look! There is the Lamb of God!" Then John's two disciples turned and followed Jesus.

Jesus looked around and saw them following. "What do you want?" he asked them.

They replied, "Rabbi" (which means Teacher), "Where are you staying?"

"Come and see," he said. It was about four o'clock in the afternoon when they went with him to the place, and they stayed there the rest of the day.

Andrew, Simon Peter's brother, was one of these men who had heard what John said and then followed Jesus. The first thing Andrew did was to find his brother, Simon, and tell him, "We have found the Messiah" (which means the Christ).

Then Andrew brought Simon to meet Jesus. Looking intently at Simon, Jesus said, "You are Simon, the son of John--but you will be called Cephas" (which means Peter)." John 1:35-42 NLT

Jesus replied, "You are blessed, Simon son of John, because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being. Now I say to you that you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church, and all the powers of hell will not conquer it. And I will give you the keys of the Kingdom of Heaven. Whatever you lock on earth will be locked in heaven, and whatever you open on earth will be opened in heaven." Matthew 16:17-19 NLT

"But now, this is what the LORD says--He who created you, Jacob, He who formed you, Isreal: "Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine." Isaiah 43:1 NIV

"The nations will see your righteousness. Kings will be blinded by your glory. And the Lord will give you a new name." Isaiah 62:2 NLT

As I was reading the Gospel of John something stuck out to me. Even though I have read about Peter's name being changed many time before I want to share something with you that was whispered to me in a quiet place in my heart. First, lets note that Peter was the only one of the 12 disciples that had his name changed. He was Simon, meaning "listen". He wasn't a "rock" and he wasn't walking in his full potential. Whatever had happened in his life he wasn't what he was called to be. At least not yet. Jesus changed his name to Peter because Jesus saw the rock deep down in him. Peter was destined for a new mission in life. The new name was a way of letting Peter in on God's divine plan. To put an assurance that Peter had the ability somehow deep down. However, in the next 3 years he made plenty of mistakes to prove Jesus wrong. Peter seemed to make mistake after mistake and often would stick his foot in his mouth. He would get caught up with fear like the time Peter walked on water and was so afraid he started sinking (Matthew 14: 30-31). Or when He couldn't imagine how God could save the world by Jesus' death and decided to reprimand Jesus (Mark 8: 31-33). But from the rooster calling out 3 times (Mark 14: 66-72) to Jesus asking Peter after His resurrection "do you love me?" 3 times (John 21:15-19), a shift is made from the Gospels to the Book of Acts. Peter becomes the rock Jesus called him to be. Peter is no longer the failure that follows him around but becomes courage, and faith, and the great church leader.

Deep down in that quiet place I heard another name for me as well. Something that through my life's circumstances I am not walking in. But the scripture says I should. I have given God far more then 3 years of screwing it up. I have done my fair share of mistakes to relate more and more to Peter each day. I have been caught up with fear in sinking seas. I have spoken wrongly against God's will like in Mark 8. But I still feel the availability of that name for me. Amazed at times, I didn't screw it up beyond what God has called me to. That name and myself is not something that is beyond the redemption work of Christ.

What is God calling you to? What name is on His lips for you that you are destined to walk out in? Is He calling you to be a rock like Peter? Or is He reminding you of how you are marked as His (Ephesians 1:13)? Is He calling you His precious child (Psalm 139:17)? Is He calling you out to 'be strong and courageous' (Deuteronomy 31:6)? What is God whispering to you in your quiet place? Search the scriptures and wait for Him to speak. And then grab a hold, friend! Grab a hold!

bottom of page