top of page
Welcome to 
Tebah of Grace
Words of Grace Through 
Another Vessel
By Jenny Stade
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Subscribe to

Tebah of Grace Blog

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Is He "big enough"?

"LORD, there is no one like you! For you are great, and your name is full of power. Who would not fear you, O King of nations? That title belongs to you alone! Among all the wise people of the earth and in all the kingdoms of the world, there is no one like you....But the LORD is the only true God, the living God. He is the everlasting King! The whole earth trembles at His anger. The nation's hid from His wrath." Jeremiah 10:6-7, 10 NLT

"But blessed are those who trust in the LORD and have made the LORD their hope and confidence." Jeremiah 17:7 NLT

"You have searched me, LORD, and you know me.

You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.

You discern my going out and my lying down;

you are familiar with all my ways.

Before a word is on my tongue You, LORD, know it completely.

You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?

Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

If I say, "Surely the darkness will hide me

and the light become night around me,"

even the darkness will not be dark to you;

the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you."

Psalms 139:1-12 NIV

"God is not a man, that He should lie. He is not a human, that He should change His mind. Has He ever spoken and failed to act? Has He ever promised and not carried it through? I received a command to bless; He has blessed, and I cannot reverse it!" Numbers 23:19-20 NLT

I have a friend who has limited her relationship with God because she doesn't believe God is quite "big enough". He isn't big enough to be a core part of her life. He isn't big enough to care about her and the choices she makes. He isn't big enough to depend on. He IS big enough to ask to be her Savior. But to her, she still holds Him at a distance. In her eyes, He still isn't big enough to follow every day and deal with cares for each day.

But the funny thing is as much as I wanted to shake her to get her to open up her mind to the full extent of God. I was gently reminded of my own limits I put on the Creator of the Universe. I can limit God because I trust Him in all my big things. But the small things? The small things are just not important enough for Him to have. Why is He not big enough to handle that too? I know that my God is big enough to do all that He would want to do. But sometimes He isn't big enough to do it through me. Because you don't know what a mess God has to work through over here.

If only we could grasp that God is big enough to care for us too. After all God takes care of the sparrows and He says I am more valuable then they are (Matthew 6:26). My God is not a God who is too big that He can't see even me, or my friend, or you. He looks down on us and even cares for the lowest of servants. Even Haggar said "You are the God who sees me" (Genesis 16:13). God is not too busy to not see our need. Helping us through and being our supply isn't below Him. Philippians says, that God WILL supply my every need (4:19). Time and again I read story after story of how God has done wonderful things through ordinary people in the Bible, what makes me different?

I am just as hung up as my friend is on how I have limited my Savior. But in the end He is big enough. He is God. He is my Creator and nothing I do will surprise Him and be too much for Him to handle (Psalm 139). He is my personal shield form every danger, He is my strength I can depend on, He is there to help (Psalm 28:7). He is an always loyal friend (Proverbs 17:17). Where in your life do you look at God and see Him as just not big enough? What is holding you back in believing God to be all He is?

bottom of page