top of page
Welcome to 
Tebah of Grace
Words of Grace Through 
Another Vessel
By Jenny Stade
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Subscribe to

Tebah of Grace Blog

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

His Body Still Lay

"Then he took the body down from the cross and wrapped it in a long linen cloth and laid it in a new tomb that had been carved out of rock. This was done late on Friday afternoon, the day of preparation for the Sabbath.

As his body was taken away, the women from Galilee followed and saw the tomb where they place His body. Then they went home and prepared spices and ointments to embalm him. But by the time they were finished it was the Sabbath, so they rested all that day as required by the law." Luke 23: 53-56 NLT

In between the power of the cross and the resurrection stood one day. One day where there was no answer. One day where the heavens stayed quiet. One day where Jesus' body still lay in the tomb. On this day there is no resurrection, there is no victory. There was just silence.

In life, when we receive bad news. The bad news of an illness, a death, a long-term prayer unanswered. And then the day passed. You expected and believed God to answer but the heavens fall silent. You bury your head into the pillow when you wake up, squeeze your eyes shut, and pray that the day would prove to be just a nightmare, not reality. Prayers unanswered and hope seems to die inside of you. Nothing, no answer back. Did all your prayers just fall on death ears? Where is this Messiah that you so desperately need and are crying out for?

Here, in the midst of those days, after the brutal crucifixion but before the resurrected power stands this day. Here where you don't hear God respond. But God is there. God is very much still there in the midst. In the midst where no sun seems to be shinning, the dark valley is ever before you. God is there. There is the middle of pain, suffering, disease, injury, and prayers unanswered. The frightening shadow seems to overtake us. There, in that moment, God is the only one who can walk with us through the valley of the shadow of death. He can bring us safely to the other side. Our shepherd will lead us, He will guide us, He will take us through.

"The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name.

Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me. You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings. Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever. " Psalm 23: 1-6 NLT

Psalm 23:4

bottom of page