top of page
Welcome to 
Tebah of Grace
Words of Grace Through 
Another Vessel
By Jenny Stade
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Subscribe to

Tebah of Grace Blog

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Far More Abundantly

"For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named, that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen." Ephesians 3: 14-21 ESV

My husband and I were presented with an opportunity to move 250 miles away from home. It would give us the chance to buy a house and raise our children in a good area. The coastal living in Los Angeles had proven itself expensive and the idea of moving outside of the area to buy a house always stood in the back of our minds. With this opportunity, my husband and I went first to God in prayer. This was a big step for us and our little growing family. My husband and I had both been raised in our current area. I had my children at the same hospital I was born at. My husband had graduated high school at the same school his mother and his grandfather had graduated at. Our current surrounding was the only place we knew. The following day Ephesians 3: 20 was spoken over me, meaning someone stood up not knowing my situation and read out loud Ephesians 3:20 to me. I got my divine confirmation of our new adventure. God was about to do something so far beyond my dreams of what I could think or imagine possible at that time. The house we bought, the schools that our kids go, the neighborhood we live in is a special present from our God. My husband and I are in love with our house. It is so much nicer than what we thought would be attainable. The schools and the neighborhood is better than I could have ever orchestrated. This was our answer to long awaited prayer, but God answered back better. That is what God does. He takes our small dreams and He gives us so much more than we think is possible.

 

"to do superabundantly over and beyond all"

 

The Greek verbage in this verse here, if literally translated, is “to do superabundantly over and beyond all”. It is an add on of words. There isn't enough words to express so Paul, the author of Ephesians, adds word upon word to try to come close to what God is trying to tell us. It’s like saying: God will do ‘more than our most’ or ‘better than our best’. God is not just able to accomplish your dreams. He is able to accomplish far beyond your dreams. Christian Author, Priscilla Shirer says, “God is able to go way past, your way past.” I almost feel like my words here can’t express how much God wants to do in and through us. Our vocabulary doesn’t have the proper words to tell of all that God has in plan for you and for me.

Sometimes, as Christians we live not appreciating this “far beyond our wildest dreams”. But ask anyone who lived sometime not following God. Ask them where they thought they were headed in their lives. Ask them where their realistic dreams were. And then ask them now that they are a Christian. Where is your life now? Where has God brought you? It is far beyond what they could have accomplished on their own?

 

Where has God brought you?

 

Does God only do this with transforming our lives when becoming Christians? No. This scripture says, ‘God’s mighty power at work within us.’ He is at work now. God isn’t at work only in the past. He is currently, actively at work for us, and through us. God is able to do it for us because we are His children. You too, as a child of God, are promised this.

Take some time today to think back on what God has done for you in your life that is beyond your wildest dreams. Remember how far God has taken you and appreciate it for a moment. Then stand in anticipation of what God is still at work to do through your life. It’s gonna be good!

Ephesians 3:20

bottom of page