top of page
Welcome to 
Tebah of Grace
Words of Grace Through 
Another Vessel
By Jenny Stade
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Subscribe to

Tebah of Grace Blog

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Anchor for my Soul

“For example, there was God’s promise to Abraham. Since there was no one greater to swear by, God took an oath in his own name, saying:

“I will certainly bless you, and I will multiply your descendants beyond number.”

Then Abraham waited patiently, and he received what God had promised.

Now when people take an oath, they call on someone greater than themselves to hold them to it. And without any question that oath is binding. God also bound himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that he would never change his mind. So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary. Jesus has already gone in there for us. He has become our eternal High Priest in the order of Melchizedek.” Hebrews 6:13-20 NLT

Sometimes my head just seems to swirl with worry. In my own ability I try to think on the positive, pushing away the troublesome thoughts that can consume me. Sometimes my "positive thinking" just feels like I am pulling at strings in the sky, each one giving way with the smallest tug and falling to the floor. Each one empty and lifeless. I try to reach up for higher ground during the day. I feel deeply lost inside. I start to wonder if I am simply telling myself lies to make myself feel better. It’s the overall feeling of the world coming in on me. But I still press on. Trying to lay aside the tornado inside, I move on with the day. After a couple of days I still don’t feel better. I keep reaching for those strings that don't make me feel more secure. I feel like I am lying to myself, and lying to the people I am around. I don't want to embrace the feelings of doubt, of worry, the ones that doesn’t add up to the “faith-filled Christian” I am supposed to be.

I stumble through my morning devotion, hunting, begging God not to just give me a thin string to hold on while I am balancing on this tight rope. I need an anchor. I need to find my soul in a place of hope again. My silent prayer rising up stirs my search through the scripture. All those words ring together, somewhere. I come upon Hebrews 6:19, “This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.” Not just a thin string I am trying to grasp. A heavy weighted anchor. It doesn’t drag me down. It grounds me. It grounds my soul. An anchor is a sign of stability and safety. I’m no longer balancing on a tightrope, reaching above for strings. I reach in my soul and let Holy Spirit give me stability; trust in an Almighty for safety.

 

"This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls."

 

Surrounding this scripture is the example of Abraham. Abraham, the Father of faith. His accounts in the Bible mark him as righteous. They bring back memory of a man who seemed untouchable in any other account. It would seem he lived perfectly and without any blemish. But I know his story in the book of Genesis and I recall his areas of doubt. I can see the transparent human Abraham that is written about there. He wasn’t beyond the doubt that I hold. He wasn’t beyond a day consumed of worry. But after those days, Abraham turned his head and his heart back to believing God and God counted Abraham as righteous because of that faith (Romans 4:3).

 

Abraham wasn’t beyond a day consumed of worry.

But after those days, Abraham turned his head and his heart back to believing God

and God counted Abraham as righteous because of that faith.

 

I turn my head and my heart back to believing in God Almighty. I do believe in a Powerful God who can anchor the world around me. Who can steady my feet and keep me from spinning. God promised me and He promised you that He would hold our lives in His hand. The God of all Creation gave a binding oath. And “we who have fled to Him for refuge can take new courage, for we can hold on to His promise with confidence (vs 18).” I hold onto this anchor with confidence and it feels secure in my hands. Not thin and lifeless as the strings of 'positive thoughts' I tried to pull from. God's safety and security bring me into His sanctuary. To a place of security. To a place of peace. To a place of rest.

Hebrews 6:19

bottom of page